Etcetera

“Thriving forward to an idea”: the wisdom of Sacra Luna

New hero: Sacra Luna, an artist of crystal jewelry. Here are some words of wisdom, which I believe are not only applicable to small business but to any artistic practice. I especially love the concept of “thriving forward to an idea.” Isn’t that what any kind of art is about?

I want to dedicate tonights post to spreading knowledge on running a small business. Since I receive so many dm’s and emails on a daily basis asking what to expect.


The first part is keeping a positive head on your shoulders. Since so much of yourself will go into your line of work, having a great outlook on everything will determine the outcome. Which may sound easy but life is anything but. Coming from personal experience the stronger your belief is in yourself naturally it will create tensions. I’ve lost a lot of friends and I’ve made new ones. So never let the fear of what may come, control your destiny.


Second is always be yourself. I know when we aspire to be certain artists and see how amazing everyone’s photography is. We ask ourselves can we become that? And of course you can. But doing anything that’s already been does is the easy part. It takes a strong willed soul to know thyself and accept that your art and your outlook on life is different.


Third , which may be the hardest, is be prepared to fail. I know I know it sounds negative. But this is the key part to growth. It’s been almost 3 years since I’ve started SacraLuna and for my first year it was a tremendous struggle to make sales. Almost everyday I’m asked “what do I do” “how do I get more followers” “how do I become successful”. Well, first you must grow and believe in your growth. And second you must ask yourself what it truly means to be successful. “A successful man is one who can lay a firm foundation with the bricks others have thrown at him.” David Brinkley
“Success is the sum of small efforts, repeated day-in and day-out.” Robert Collier
Success is about passion, thriving forward to an idea that burns the purpose to which our own life is consumed daily . Without it, we cannot breath. Without it, we cease to exist.

Leave a Reply

